Australian High Commission
Republic of Kenya

About us

About us


Go to:   Countries of Accreditation   |   Contact us   |   Honoury Consul in Kampala   |   Public holidays   |   Job vacancies and tenders


Head of Mission  -  Ms Alison Chartres

Ms Chartres is a senior career officer with the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT). She was most recently Assistant Secretary, Development Policy and Education Branch. Ms Chartres has served overseas as Counsellor, Australian Mission to the United Nations, New York; Deputy Development Coordinator, Regional Assistance Mission to Solomon Islands (RAMSI); Adviser, Solomon Islands Peace Monitoring Council; and as Second Secretary, Australian High Commission, Port Moresby.


Countries of Accreditation

The Australian High Commission in Kenya is also accredited to Burundi, Rwanda, Somalia, Tanzania and Uganda, as well as the East African Community (EAC), the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP), and the United Nations Human Settlements Programme (UN-Habitat). It is also a friend of the International Conference of the Great Lakes Region (ICGLR).

Australia has an Honorary-Consul in Uganda.


Contact us

Australian High Commission, Nairobi

Street address:    Riverside Drive (400m off Chiromo Road), Nairobi

Postal address:    P.O. Box 39341-00623, Nairobi, Kenya

Email addresses:

Social media:

Telephone Numbers:

  • Switchboard:  (+254-20) 4277 100
  • Immigration and Visa Enquiries: Please use the online form listed under email addresses 

Fax Numbers:

  • Main High Commission:   (+254-20) 4277 139
  • Department of Home Affairs:  (+254-20) 4277 189

Working hours: 

  • Chancery:  7.45am to 4.30pm Monday to Thursday  and 7.45am to 12 noon on Friday
  • Visa, immigration and citizenship counter hours (by appointment only):   9 am to 11 am Monday to Friday  
  • Except for public holidays (see below).

Parking:   Please note that the Australian High Commission in Nairobi does not have visitor parking. The closest parking is at the Chiromo Funeral Parlour, 400m down the hill from the chancery.

Australian Consulate, Uganda

Patrick Bitature
Honourary Consul
Australian Consulate in Uganda

Street Address:   Australian Consulate Plot 22, Acacia Avenue, CNOOC Building, 3rd Floor, Left wing , Kampala, Uganda
(Next to Khana Khazana)

Postal Address:   P. O. Box 9421, Kampala, Uganda

Phone:   +256 393 515 865


Working hours:  Mondays to Fridays, 9.00 am to 12.30 p.m and 2.00 p.m to 5.00 p.m

Public Holidays

In 2018, the High Commission will be closed on:

  • Monday            01 January            New Year’s Day
  • Friday               26 January             Australia Day
  • Friday               30 March                 Good Friday
  • Monday           02 April                     Easter Monday
  • Wednesday   25 April                     Anzac Day
  • Tuesday          01 May                      Labour Day
  • Monday           28 May                      Reconciliation Day
  • Monday           01 October             Labour Day
  • Wednesday   12 December         Jamhuri Day
  • Tuesday          25 December        Christmas Day
  • Wednesday   26 December         Boxing Day
  • Thursday        27 December         Additional DFAT Holiday
  • Friday              28 December         Additional DFAT Holiday
  • Monday          31 December         Additional DFAT Holiday


Employment Opportunites

No Current Vacancies