Australian High Commission
Republic of Kenya

The Victorian state election will take place on 26 November 2022. Postal voting will be available to voters who live or will be overseas on election day. No in-person voting will be available. Visit the Victorian Electoral Commission website to learn more:


Australian passport applications overseas

Due to the increased demand following the reopening of the international border, passports are currently taking longer to process.  You should allow up to 8-10 weeks to receive a passport.

Coronavirus (COVID-19)

The health and safety of Australians overseas is our highest priority. Our ability to provide some services may be limited. We will continue to prioritise consular services to those in genuine need. If you require urgent assistance, please contact our Consular Emergency Centre, Canberra (Australia): +61 2 6261 3305.

Be sure to share your details with us so that we can keep you updated by email via [email protected]

If you aren’t already, please follow us on Twitter and Facebook

Australian Government Information

Please click on the below links to get Australian Government information relating to COVID-19.

Australia in East Africa


Welcome!  Karibu!  Kaze!  Tukusanyukidde!  Soo Dhahwow!  Murakaza neza!

This is the official website of the Australian High Commission to Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania and Uganda, the Australian Embassy to Burundi and Somalia, and the Australian delegations to the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) and the United Nations Human Settlement Programme (UN-Habitat). The Australian High Commission in Nairobi also engages with the East African Community (EAC)and International Conference of the Great Lakes Region (ICGLR).


Facebook Twitter

   Follow us

Follow us on Facebook @AusHCKenya and Twitter @AusHCKenya for the latest news and activities of the Australian Governmment in East Africa, as well as Australia's many cultural, development, humanitarian, business and sporting links with the region.


Jobs and Visa Solicitation Fraud 

We would like to inform the general public to be cautious of fraudulent job offers at 'Coca-Cola Australia' or other companies currently being circulated. Please also be aware that documents promising to facilitate Temporary Skill Shortage visas are fake and do not originate from any Department or Agency of the Australian Government. 


Appointment Booking Notice

 Please note that we have enhanced security screening and entry arrangements at the Chancery to ensure the safety of our staff, clients and visitors. If you are not prepared to comply with entry requirements you will not be permitted inside the Chancery.

All travellers are advised to carefully consider the information contained in the below websites before finalising travel arrangements to Australia.

Department of Home Affairs - COVID-19 information

Department of Health


There's nothing like Australia!


#visas     #study     #seeaustralia     #dobusiness


The Department of Home Affairs no longer maintains a telephone enquiry line in Nairobi. All Visa and Immigration enquiries, including the booking of appointments, should only be made through the Online Enquiry Form

Any visa enquiries coming through the below emails will not be responded to – these e-mails are strictly for passport or consular clients only:- [email protected] and [email protected].



Australia Aid

For Australians in East Africa:

The Australian Government provides consular, passport, travel advisory and notarial support to Australians in East Africa. We also share information on national and state elections.


24-hour Consular Support

Need emergency consular assistance?  Please call:

You can also email the Australia High Commission in Nairobi, Kenya, on [email protected] or call (+254) 20 4277 100 during local business hours. We will be closed for the Christmas holidays from 24 December 2021 and resume normal operations on 4 January 2022. Australian citizens requiring emergency consular assistance should contact +61 2 6261 3305 from overseas and 1300 555 135 from within Australia.

Passport Service

Due to the increased demand following the reopening of the international border, passports are currently taking longer to process.  You should allow up to 8-10 weeks to receive a passport.

Is your passport lost or stolen in East Africa?

  • Report the loss or theft online
  • Contact the Australia High Commission in Nairobi via email at  [email protected] or on the numbers listed above, during local business hours.
  • Call the Australian Passport Information Service on 131 232 from within Australia.
  • Seek more information on the Australian Passports Office website.

Travel Advice

If you need immediate assistance, you can call the Consular Emergency Centre on +61 2 6261 3305 from overseas or 1300 555 135 from within Australia.

Need information on visiting or living East Africa?  Read the Australian Government’s:

We encourage all Australian travellers and expatriates in East Africa to:

  • REGISTER your travel or residency plans
  • SUBSCRIBE to travel advice updates – stay notified!
  • INSURE yourself and all your belongings


Notarial service

The Australian High Commission in Kenya may be able to provide notarial services and document legalisation, including the issuing of Certificates of No Impediment to Marriage (CNI) and the legalisation of signatures and seals that appear on Australian public documents (authentications and apostilles). We can also certify copies of Australian documents or documents intended for use in Australia, witness signatures on Australian forms, witness the signing of Australian Statutory Declarations, and witness the making of an Australian Affidavit. Fees apply.







Study in Australia
Business Envoy. Insights into the Australian Government\'s trade and investment agenda